Sutton Foster and Hugh Jackman at the 2022 Drama League Awards (Photo credit: Bruce Glikas)

The 89th Annual Drama League Awards ceremony will be held on May 19, 2023, at the Ziegfeld Ballroom. Nominees will be announced on April 25, 2023. To be eligible, productions must have been in previews between April 21, 2022, and April 23, 2023.

The Drama League Awards honor Broadway and Off-Broadway. Nominees are chosen by members of The Drama League. Membership – which can include the ability to vote depending upon the tier – is open and available to industry professionals, artists and audience members by visiting The Drama League’s website. Members must be in good standing by April 15, 2023, to vote.

In 2022, two new categories were introduced: Outstanding Direction of a Play and Outstanding Direction of a Musical. Other categories include the Distinguished Performance Award, Outstanding Production of a Play, Outstanding Production of a Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Revival of a Musical, Outstanding Direction of a Play, Outstanding Direction of a Musical, Founders Award for Excellence in Directing, Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater, Contribution to the Theater Award and The Gratitude Award.

Founded in 1916, The Drama League is under the leadership of artistic director, Gabriel Stelian-Shanks and executive director, Bevin Ross. The organization provides time and space for directors to work and also offers training and personal development opportunities.