David Byrne and band members in 'American Utopia.' (Photo: Matthew Murphy)

The Tony Awards special will feature performances by David Byrne and the cast of “American Utopia,” as well as by John Legend and the cast of “Ain’t Too Proud,” organizers announced Thursday. 

The special, which is scheduled to air on CBS at 9 p.m. Sunday, will also feature a finale performance by “Freestyle Love Supreme” members, including Lin-Manuel Miranda, and a number by the original Broadway cast members of “Hairspray.” Stars including Beanie Feldstein, Josh Groban, Bernadette Peters and Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber are newly announced to appear on the telecast. 

As previously announced, the special will also feature performances by “Jagged Little Pill,” “Moulin Rouge!” and “Tina,” as well as a presentation of the awards for Best Play, Best Revival of a Play and Best Musical.

The special, entitled  “The Tony Awards Present: Broadway’s Back!,” will be hosted by Leslie Odom Jr. At 7 p.m. EST, Audra McDonald will announce the winners of all other Tony Awards in a telecast streaming on Paramount+. 

Additional artists appearing on the telecast include Jon Batiste, Stephanie J. Block, Wayne Brady, Tituss Burgess, Darren Criss, Robbie Fairchild, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Jordan Fisher, Santino Fontana, Andrew Garfield, Jared Grimes, Jennifer Holliday, Nikki M. James, Jasmine Cephas Jones, Ron Cephas Jones, Cyndi Lauper, Norm Lewis, John Lithgow, Lindsay Mendez, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Jennifer Nettles, Lynn Nottage, Adam Pascal, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Andrew Rannells, Anthony Rapp, Anika Noni Rose, Lea Salonga, Ali Stroker, Black Thought, Courtney B. Vance and Daniel J. Watts.