The original Broadway cast of 'The Minutes.' (Photo: Courtesy of 'The Minutes')

“The Minutes” announced plans to return to Broadway in March 2022, about two years after its run was halted by the pandemic. 

The play, written by Tracy Letts and directed by Anna D. Shapiro, played 19 preview performances at the Cort Theatre before theaters were forced to close on March 12, 2020. Now, the production plans to resume performances in March at Studio 54, with an opening night date of April 7, 2022. 

The cast for the production will be announced at a later date. The 2020 cast included Armie Hammer, who announced in April that he would not return to the production in order to focus on his health. The statement followed allegations of sexual assault, which Hammer has denied. 

In addition to Hammer, original cast members included Letts, Ian Barford, Blair Brown, Cliff Chamberlain, K. Todd Freeman, Danny McCarthy, Jessie Mueller, Sally Murphy, Austin Pendleton and Jeff Still.

The Steppenwolf Theatre production is produced on Broadway by Jeffrey Richards, Rebecca Gold and Carl Moellenberg. The production announced in November 2020 that it was vacating the Cort Theatre to allow for planned renovations to the theater.