Michael R. Jackson, composer and book writer of 'A Strange Loop.' (Photo by Craig Barritt/Getty Images for Tory Burch Foundation)

The New York Drama Critics’ Circle today selected Michael R. Jackson’s “A Strange Loop” as best musical of the 2019-2020 season and Will Arbery’s “Heroes of the Fourth Turning” as best play.

Both productions ran Off-Broadway at Playwrights Horizons, with “Heroes of the Fourth Turning,” directed by Danya Taymor, premiering in October 2019 and “A Strange Loop,” which features a score and book by Jackson and direction by Stephen Brackett, premiering in June 2019. The awards, which include a $2,500 cash prize, will be presented in a virtual ceremony on April 28.
The Drama Critics Circle, which is comprised of 20 critics based in the New York area, also issued special citations to David Byrne and the Broadway production of “American Utopia,” to Deirdre O’Connell for “career excellence,” including her performance in “Dana H.” and to the New York theater community “for perseverance in the face of loss during the COVID-19 pandemic.”