Rajiv Joseph (Photo credit: Bruce Glikas/Getty)

The Dramatists Guild, the trade association for playwrights, composers, lyricists and librettists, has announced five new members of its national council. Broadway playwright Rajiv Joseph, Pulitzer Prize finalist for “Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo” and composer-lyricist of Broadway’s “KPOP” Helen Park, as well as playwrights Diana Burbano, Andrew Creech and Samuel D. Hunter have been chosen to serve.

Hunter, Joseph and Park were elected by the national membership, while Burbano and Creech were elected by their regions. However, all will serve on the same Dramatists Guild national council.

The council is led by four officers who are selected from within. The current slate includes president Amanda Green, vice president Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, secretary Kristoffer Diaz and treasurer Christine Toy Johnson.

Each month, the entire council meets to determine policy for the Dramatists Guild. Council members also have the opportunity to serve on various committees which work to address issues within the theater industry.

Governed by the national council, the Dramatists Guild works to advance and protect the rights of dramatists across the country.