Joaquina Kalukango, Nathaniel Stampley and Chilina Kennedy in 'Paradise Square.' (Photo: Kevin Berne)

“Paradise Square” began rehearsals Monday, ahead of a scheduled Broadway run starting this March.

Joaquina Kalukango and Chilina Kennedy lead the cast, most of whom were part of the show’s Chicago run. Kalukango was Tony-nominated for her role in the 2019 production of “Slave Play.” Kennedy has appeared in “Beautiful: The Carole King Musical” and “Jesus Christ Superstar.”

Kalukango and Kennedy are joined by John Dossett, Sidney DuPont, A.J. Shively, Nathaniel Stampley, Gabrielle McClinton, Jacob Fishel, Matt Bogart and Kevin Dennis.

The new musical, produced by Garth Drabinsky in his first return to Broadway since a 2009 conviction on charges of fraud and forgery, is expected to begin previews at the Ethel Barrymore Theatre on March 15, ahead of an April 3 opening. 

The book of “Paradise Square” is written by Christina Anderson, Craig Lucas and Larry Kirwan. The music is by Jason Howland with lyrics by Nathan Tysen and Masi Asare, and additional music by Kirwan. The production is directed by Moisés Kaufman, with choreography by Bill T. Jones and musical staging by Alex Sanchez.

The company of 40 performers also features Colin Barkell, Karen Burthwright, Kennedy Caughell, Dwayne Clark, Conor Coleman, Garrett Coleman, Eric Craig, Colin Cunliffe, Chloe Davis, Josh Davis, Bernard Dotson, Jamal Christopher Douglas, Camille Eanga-Selenge, Sam Edgerly, Shiloh Goodin, Sean Jenness, Joshua Keith, Jay McKenzie, Ben Michael, Jason Oremus, Kayla Pecchioni, Eilis Quinn, Lee Siegel, Erica Spyres, Lael van Keuren, Sir Brock Warren, Alan Wiggins, Kristen Beth Williams and Hailee Kaleem Wright. Aisha Jackson will serve as standby to Kalukango.

Scenic design is by Allen Moyer, with costume design by Toni-Leslie James, sound design by by Jon Weston and lighting design by Don Holder.