Danny Burstein originated the role of Harold Zidler in 'Moulin Rouge!' (Photo: Matthew Murphy)

The 88th Annual Drama League awards will take place at the Ziegfeld Ballroom on May 20, 2022, the Drama League announced Monday.

Nominations for the awards, which will honor Broadway and Off-Broadway productions from the 2021-2022 season, will be announced April 22. The luncheon event will mark the first time since 2019 that the festivities will be held in person; the 2020 and 2021 ceremonies were held virtually due to COVID-19 restrictions.

In order to be eligible for this year’s awards, a production will need to have been in previews between March 16, 2021 and April 20, 2022.

The Drama League will only consider in-person productions this year. The League will distribute awards in all of the traditional categories, including the Distinguished Performance Award, as well as awards for outstanding play or musical and revival of a play or musical. This year, two additional competitive categories have been introduced: Outstanding Direction of a Play and Outstanding Direction of a Musical.

Last year’s Distinguished Performance Award was awarded to Danny Burstein for his role in “Moulin Rouge!” “Moulin Rouge!” won Outstanding Production of a Musical and “The Inheritance” won Outstanding Production of a Play.