‘A New Deal For Broadway’ is signed by over 100 Broadway industry leaders and organizations, including theater owners, producers, casting directors, unions and creatives.

Black Theatre United has released “A New Deal For Broadway,” outlining a series of Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, Accessibility and Belonging (EDIAB) reforms for the Broadway industry with a focus on Black theater professionals.

The document comes as the result of a summit hosted by Black Theatre United in collaboration with the Center for Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging at NYU School of Law. The summit, which was held between March and August of this year, was attended by Broadway industry leaders from various sectors of the industry, including Broadway League president Charlotte St. Martin, representatives for the theater owning organizations and labor unions, casting directors, producers and creatives.

The summit attendees also make up the list of the over 100 signatories to the agreement. The organizational signatories include Actors’ Equity Association, Broadway Across America, Broadway.com, Circle in the Square Theatre, Disney Theatrical Group, John Gore Organization, Jujamcyn Theaters, Lincoln Center Theatre, Make-Up Artists and Hair Stylists Local 798, Manhattan Theatre Club, Nederlander Organization, Roundabout Theatre Company, Second Stage, Tara Rubin Casting, The Broadway League, The Shubert Organization, Inc. and The Telsey Office, among others.

The Introduction section reads, “This document memorializes our commitments—to our industry, to each other, and to ourselves—arising from that summit process. We know that we must do better, and we commit to leaning into change.”

The commitments outlined in the document range from short-term action and policy changes to long-term reforms in the areas of artistic culture, policies and cultural training, pipeline initiatives, audience development and community engagement.

“We are grateful to all those who have worked diligently with us for the last six months and to all those who committed to the principles of this document by signing their names to it. Special thanks to our collaborators Kenji Yoshino and David Glasgow from the Center for Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging at NYU School of Law for their facilitation, EDIAB training for all participants, and drafting of the New Deal,” said the Black Theatre United founders in a joint statement.

Black Theatre United was founded by Lisa Dawn Cave, Darius de Haas, Carin Ford, Capathia Jenkins, LaChanze, Kenny Leon, Norm Lewis, Audra McDonald, Michael McElroy, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Wendell Pierce, Billy Porter, Anna Deavere Smith, Allyson Tucker, Tamara Tunie, Lillias White, NaTasha Yvette Williams, Schele Williams and Vanessa Williams.