The Stage Directors and Choreographers Society has re-elected Michael John Garcés as executive board first vice president and Melia Bensussen as secretary.

The results of the 2020 executive board election were announced Monday at the union’s annual membership meeting. SDC also elected Joseph Haj as second vice president and Casey Stangl as third vice president. 

“With the continuity of Michael John and Melia’s service and the addition of Joe and Casey as officers, SDC will lead with strength and purpose as we continue to confront the challenges brought on by the pandemic and to advocate for racial equity in the field,” said SDC Board President Evan Yionoulis. 

In addition to the executive positions, Hope Clarke, Susan Stroman, Maria Torres and Tamilla Woodard were elected as at-large members to the board. Desdemona Chiang, Joseph Haj, Anne Kauffman and John Rando were re-elected for three-year terms as board members. 

Bensussen and Casey Stangl were also reelected as northeast regional representative and western regional representative, respectively.