The Drama League has formed a directors council, a first for the organization, with the goal of providing mentorship to members and guidance for the reopening of the industry. 

Formed in 1919, the Drama League provides career opportunities and training for directors. The new council is intended to make directors from across the country a larger part of the League’s decision-making process. 

“As the American theater emerges in 2021 from the COVID-19 pandemic, the incredible artists of the Directors Council will inform and partner in our efforts to create a revivified field and a better institution — one that further embraces anti-racist practices, equitably supports BIPOC artists, improves the lives of its communities, and leads the world in healthy practices,” said Gabriel Stelian-Shanks, artistic director of the Drama League. 

The members of the directors council include Daniel Banks, Melia Bensussen, Christopher Burris, Jillian Carucci, Jennifer Chang, Desdemona Chiang, R.J. Cutler, Estefanía Fadul, Raz Golden, Brian Eugenio Herrera, Adam Immerwahr, Gwynn MacDonald, Tony Phelan, Lisa Portes, Lisa Rothe, Stelian-Shanks, Rob Urbinati, Nicole A. Watson, Sharifa Yasmin and Pirronne Yousefzadeh.