A recent Zoom session with the cast of '1776.' (Photo: Courtesy of A.R.T.)

The revival of “1776” has announced its cast members and creative team ahead of planned productions at A.R.T., on tour and on Broadway. 

The gender-inclusive cast will be led by Crystal Lucas-Perry as John Adams, Patrena Murray as Benjamin Franklin, Elizabeth A. Davis as Thomas Jefferson, Allyson Kaye Daniel as Abigail Adams and Eryn LeCroy as Martha Jefferson. This is the cast “committed to the production,” according to A.R.T., on a schedule that includes a planned run at A.R.T. in the 2020/2021 season and a Broadway run at Roundabout Theatre Company in Spring 2021. 

The revival is a co-production between A.R.T. and Roundabout Theatre, with a planned “mini-tour” between the Boston and New York productions. A.R.T. said it currently has no update to those dates “given the uncertainty of these times.” 

The production is directed by Diane Paulus, who has been holding a workshop with the cast and creative team over Zoom. Other creative team members include choreographer Jeffrey L. Page, scenic designer Scott Pask and costume designer Emilio Sosa. 

“Our cast includes multiple representations of gender, race, and ethnicity that allow this revival of ‘1776’ to more broadly reflect today’s America, our America,” Paulus said in the press release.

The full cast includes Nancy Anderson as George Read, Becca Ayers as Col. Thomas McKean, Tiffani Barbour as Robert Livingston, Hannah Cruz as Judge James Wilson, Mehry Eslaminia as Charles Thomson, Joanna Glushak as Stephen Hopkins, Shawna Hamic as Richard Henry Lee, Liz Mikel as John Hancock, Kerry O’Malley as John Dickinson, Oneika Phillips as Joseph Hews, Lulu Picart as Samuel Chase, Sara Porkalob as Edward Rutledge, Brooke Simpson as Roger Sherman, Salome Smith as the Courier, Sav Souza as Dr. Josiah Barlett and Jill Vallery as Caesar Rodney.