Second Stage Artistic Director Carole Rothman during the Second Stage Theater Broadway lights up the Hayes Theatre. (Photo by Walter McBride/Getty Images)

Second Stage Theater has voted in two co-chairs to lead its board of trustees, replacing Chairman Stephen C. Sherrill who has held the position for more than three decades.

Terry Lindsay, currently a trustee of the board, and Timothy J. McClimon, a trustee and president of the American Express Foundation, were elected co-chairs and began their roles on Sept. 1. Sherrill will remain on the board as chairman emeritus, a position that is also held by Tony Kiser.

“We are so thankful for Stephen’s service to the Second Stage Board of Trustees during his more than 30 years as Chairman of the Board,” Lindsay and McClimon said in a statement. “His leadership as well as his enormous contributions and support over the years have been paramount to our success.  We look forward to continuing our work with him in this new role and look forward to welcoming our new members as we kick off our 40th Anniversary Season.”

Lindsay joined the Second Stage Board in 2009 and also supports dancers as a trustee of the Juilliard School.

McClimon, who is also the senior vice president for corporate social responsibility at American Express, was previously the executive director of Second Stage Theater and has been a board member of Second Stage since 1989.

The board also voted in new positions for existing trustee members for fiscal year 2019. Tony Goldwyn has been named vice chair, Stewart Smith has been named treasurer and Angela Sunhas been named chair of the executive committee.

The Board also voted in Laurie Erlandson and Peter Lichtenthal as new members of the board of trustees.